i make love to my periods

it’s not a sea
it’s not an ocean
massive
brimming
waiting to overflow
or hit
the shore
and retreat
that’s not
what my
periods
are

my periods
are not beautiful
they are not
photogenic
they are not poetic
they are
a fucking
pain
and
pain is not beautiful
pain is a
sharp pain in the feet
with no ‘a’
on days when the floor
feels too far away

my periods
are messy
they stain
and they
never come on
time
and they
make me
feel like
a 10 rupees wala
balloon
(i even remember
that one time
the balloon-waale
bhaiya touched
my hand
when I was just 7)

and they make me
emotional
make me fall
in love
with people
I never knew existed
or people
I want to punch
in their faces
with my vagina

my periods
don’t consume me
every
month
I consume them

blood
dripping down
my chaddis
stuck to my index finger

Leave a Reply

