Want to buy yourself some lads and help let my flowers bloom?  

(they are
white
but

that’s not
their
only
selling point )

I was
once
travelling
with 20
of them
in a flight
and from
what i saw
,
i would
have bought me
some lads
for whatever
the selling
price
of their dirty
mouths were

they were
loud
in ways
my mother
dreads
would be called
“brown
people
and their
brown
mannerisms”
and that was
fine
you see
I am a brown
person
I live in
your tongue
of loud
and noisy
and messy
and dirty
and it’s fine
your lads
are peanuts
against the noise
you make about
my rickshaw wallas
looting you
on your vacation
in my brown land
it really is fine
your lads
are no match
to the noise
the airport
authority
at the gate made
before letting us board

simple chap,
he had one
question
( and plenty of
obstacles )
for my amma:

“prove to me
you
are
going
to leave my land”

wonder
where
he was
when his ancestors
raided ours

but that’s
fine
too

he
was
just doing
his job

and my amma –
she didn’t
ever really
complain about
your rickshaw wallas
now
did she

but the lads
they are a
peculiar kind
they weren’t

really
doing their
job
when
one of them
peeked
into my
amma’s
lap
while she
fixed my passport
and said:

“That’s not English”

it wasn’t
the English
they spoke
indeed

because the
English
they spoke

it involved
a lot of
locker-room
talk
and throwing

Candies
at the airhostesses’
ass
while she walked away
from their dirty mouths
and it
involved one
terrific and loud
question
“mate, you
heard
of date rape?”
followed
by a massive
dirty laughter
and more candies
thrown around
that I
now want to
stuff up their asses

these lads
i wish I could buy them
from
an off-license,
Really

just buy them
cheap
and burn
them to death
in the flight I
will rent
with the
airhostess
whose eyes
wanted
to bludgeon them
to pulp

these lads
who thought
it was funny
to check me out
everytime
I stood up
or shuffled in
my seat

to be honest
it was fine
I am not just
brown
I am a woman
too
I am used to
this unsolicited
staring
and unasked-for
flirty eye contacts
but these lads
I swear
on my love
for gore

I would
have pulled out
their tongues
and fed
them to
their own
pets
when
I heard
“pills”
“nipples”
“ hooker”
“she”
“but
how is it
rape then”
“hahaha”
in the same breath

and these lads
I wish I could ask
them:
“prove to me
you
are going
to leave my land”
and when they
wouldn’t be able to
satisfy my
question
I wish
I could swipe them
off
myself

clean

dead

away
from
my precious land
of
flowers
that need
to bloom

Leave a Reply

