Maslow, you suck

a
sense
of
belonging

it’s
on
your
tri
ang
le
that
I learnt
about
in my
high
school
back
home

but
after
changing
countries
to study
further
I
am
not
sure

if
“back
home”
is
spelled
the same
anymore

like
Plath
I inhabit
extremities
and yet
don’t
belong
in
any of
those worlds

‘oscillating’
is
my favorite
white word
but this
white
tongue
never
knew
how to say
‘mother’
in its own

After
21
years of
being

I met
someone
who
gasped
,
said
‘I
like
the
color
of your
skin;
it’s
coffee’

I bet
they
only
drink
filter

I waited

(impassioned)

and wondered
how
only
two letters
could mean
+more+
than
passionate
;
until
I realised
the white
tongue
holds
more
value
than
my body

I
do
not
belong
in
(      )
or
{      }

but
here I am-
asking:
paint
me
in your
tongue
before
I
forget
the color
of my
skin

Leave a Reply

