strangers

when I tasted
your mouth
in mine
I wanted
to hold
you
and
never let go

not because
it tasted of
beer
and comfort
but
because
I
remembered
that our tastes
in movies
and music
and books
and
on romance
were stronger
than that hold
between
two tongues

and somehow
in that moment
between
me sipping
on the tea you
had made
and
you telling
me that you
are a big fan
of ice cream

I realised
what
joy
felt like

like those
soft giggles
you released
to mask
my awkwardness
like the smell
of your shirt
that I can
still feel on my
palms
like
the deal
we made
on jokes we
shall never crack
on
first dates
like

like I
could feel
my chest again
and it was
your heart
that was
pounding
inside
;

beating a
little
too hard
for strangers
who shall
never
see each other
again

;

is this
what it felt
like to love
during the
partition?

Leave a Reply

