My lullaby:

To the moment of love, another cliche persists:
while I put myself to sleep last night,
I remembered you
telling me
how you’d check for my breath
while I slept
you said my breath was soft,
almost dead
and I smiled sheepishly
to myself
took a pill and woke up this morning

To the moment of love,
another cliche persists:
while I put myself to sleep last night,
I remembered you talking to me
back from a night at the pubs
you’d said
to the asleep me
‘I know you mayn’t remember this tomorrow
but I missed you sorely tonight’
and I smiled in my dreams
took a pill and woke up this morning

to the moment of love,
another cliche persists:
while I put myself to sleep last night,
I remembered how you’d tell me
to turn off the lights
but leave the video on
while I farted softly
you chatted away to my snores-
tragically
you said sweet things
you sometimes sang
you talked to me while I
I smiled in my slumber
took a pill and woke up this morning

to the moment of love,
another cliche persists:
while I put myself to sleep last night,
I remembered
you
your skin against my arms
the smell of my shampoo in your curly hair
your hair in my face
and I woke up
panting for your touch
deliberating
whether to love you
in my dreams
or in reality

to the moment of love,
another cliche persists:
I didn’t put myself to sleep last night,
I just slept.
Peacefully.
Magnificently.
wholly.

Leave a Reply

