23 seconds of romance:

I see him,

Ethnic Indian prints on his top
muddy shoes too rugged from
capitalism
eyes fluttering to catch mine
I see him and
look away

he’s only looking because I’m brown
because my bag matches his political affiliations
and the redness of my cheeks is
more prominent on his nose
I see him and
look away

the bus blunders to a halt
I skip ahead,
jumping at and
bumping into strangers
he stares
and looks away

He smiles
I shy

He pretends to chat with his friend
while I calculate
whether my heart is beating at a pace
higher than the current exchange rate

and finally,
I decide to smile

But alas
I’m now in my room
and he-
probably in a workshop for reverse-bounties

2 thoughts on “23 seconds of romance:

Leave a Reply

